A Jefferson Award-Winning Nonprofit

Leslie Noel, Founder of the Peter Pan Foundation’s founder, was awarded the Jefferson Award for Public Service.

“I am so humbled and honored to win this award. To be acknowledged for something you feel privileged to do; I feel lucky to be working with this community…especially our youth. To help children to see the power they have to make a positive impact in this world?… Is an honor in itself. And the truth is, if The Peter Pan Foundation has made a positive impact on even one person; inspired, entertained, healed, or helped even one person… Then we have already won.”


 CBS Article and Video


Background of the Jefferson Awards

In 1972, Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, U.S. Senator Robert Taft, Jr. and Sam Beard founded the American Institute for Public Service, a 501c3 public foundation, to establish a Nobel Prize for public and community service – The Jefferson Awards.


The Jefferson Awards are presented on two levels: national and local. Past winners of the national award include Cesar Chavez, Jimmy Carter, Walter Cronkite, General Colin Powell, Arthur Ashe, Paul Newman, Lance Armstrong, Peyton Manning, among many others.

On the local level, Jefferson Awards recipients are ordinary people who do extraordinary things without expectation of recognition or reward. By honoring the recipients, it is the goal of the Jefferson Awards to inspire others to become involved in community and public service. The Jefferson Awards is the nation’s largest media partnership highlighting service to America.